Personal Story

Crying Someone Else’s Tears

Being an empath was difficult at first because I didn’t know I was one. I cried a lot, thinking I was over emotional.

In 2009, while working a freelance gig in Manhattan, I started feeling upset like I was in the middle of an argument. Moments later I heard arguments (in my head). I asked why I was feeling this way then started to have visions of a woman I knew casually involved in the squabble with another woman. Being ungrounded and not having healthy boundaries led me down a rabbit hole. I learned that the two women were fighting over a man, who I also knew.

I was distracted for an hour by this fiasco.

Empaths (and highly sensitive people) have a sensitive central nervous system, which is responsible for receiving information outside and inside the body. This includes the brain, spinal cord, optic and olfactory nerves, all nerve endings in the body and the gastrointestinal digestive system.

Empaths receive information from everything and everyone around them. They are also affected by what they eat, drink and put on their skin.

Grounding and shielding is vital for empaths. It protects their mind, body and spirit. There are practical ways to ground and shield.

  • Releasing people, food and behaviors that deplete or scatter energy
  • Grounding and shielding using visualization or calling on Archangel Michael for protection
  • Yoga, chanting and meditation
  • Dancing
  • Spending time outdoors, especially in parks and near water
  • Self-reiki
  • Eating root vegetables, beans, nuts and seeds

I use all the methods above. The energy of a client, their spirit family and all the emotions that come with an intuitive reading can be overwhelming. Grounding and shielding my energy means I am taking care of myself so I have the strength to help my clients.

I no longer cry other people’s tears, but I’ve come close because I understood the suffering at hand. Calling on the angels to help me raise my vibration comes in handy.

Accepting being an empath took time. I spend more time having fun because there are no longer any rabbit holes to trip me up.


Highly Sensitive People (HSP) and Empaths

An empath and highly sensitive person have sensitive central nervous systems. They are sensitive to energy. It isn’t an affliction, but a reality for a small part of the world’s population.

The central nervous system (CNS) consists of the brain and spinal cord. The connection includes the olfactory and optic nerves, nerve endings in the body and the stomach and intestines.

In a spiritual sense, all seven of the major chakras are connected to the central nervous system. This impacts the mind, body and spirit of an empath and highly sensitive person.

Highly Sensitive People

People who are highly sensitive get lost in the emotions of other people or the energy of their surroundings. They react as if they are having an allergy attack. They can shake off the discomfort by walking away from the allergen.

Highly sensitive people are sometimes labeled as anti-social, shy or introverted because they avoid social engagements or have anxiety about being around large groups.

Some of the other allergens include:

  • Bright and flickering lights
  • Loud, sharp or sudden sounds.
  • Sudden or extreme temperature change
  • Aggressive emotions or personalities
  • Emotionally unstable people
  • Scents
  • Fabrics
  • Refined and processed food, especially white sugar and white flour


Empaths are highly sensitive, but to the extent of not being able to discern their energy from another’s. They react to energy as if an allergen is trapped inside their bodies. Depending on sensitivity, an empath can take on the physical symptoms of someone’s dis-ease. I met someone who identified as a physical empath; she once broke out in the rash and boils someone else had.

Sensitivity to Energy

Empaths and highly sensitive people can see, feel, hear, smell, taste and know energy as it moves around them. Life can be erratic if they do not take care of themselves. Self-care, especially grounding and shielding, keeps them balanced. They make great best friends, counselors, psychics, medical professionals, alternative healers, parents and caretakers of plants and animals because they have nurturing personalities.

You are in good hands when you connect with an empathy or highly sensitive person.

Spirit Healing

Sex and Pregnancy Dreams Are About Creativity

My mom used to call me whenever she had a dream I was pregnant. I always told her that it only a dream.

Now, in my understanding about energy healing, chakras and symbolism, I realize that my mom was dreaming about my creative energy. I paint, draw, cook, bake, sing, dance, write, design clothing, do photograph. Basically, my creative energy is vast. But, in the past, my creative energy was unfocused. And, I dreamed of having sex with people I would never go near in my waking life. I had a lot of children. They were everywhere. I never dreamed of being pregnant.

The sacral chakra is the area of creativity, manifesting, sexuality, healthy boundaries, children and intuition. In short, this is the center of creative energy.

When my sacral was wide open I had sex with men I did not care about, dealt with sugar addiction, spent time in other people’s business and created projects that were never completed. When my sacral was shut down I went into hiding, stopped having sex, denied myself from things I loved (massage, pedicures, hugs) and I didn’t create any new projects. I barely listened to my intuition so I was making choices from an unhealthy place. The results were disastrous.

Today, my sacral chakra is healed. Balanced. I conceptualize a project, collaborate with other creative people to complete it and share with others. I kicked my sugar habit and eat healthier snacks. Masturbation is different. I feel bliss rather than a release of tension. I listen to my intuition and I am happy with where I am in life.

All my dreams of sex and children have shifted to me dreaming about love. Unconditional love.

There was a tiny part of me hoping to continue the dream of actor Bradley Cooper being my husband. But I need to watch what I think. I’ve been manifesting at a fast pace. A blind Twitter account with his name followed me. I chant Om Mani Padme Hum to keep my mind neutral. Who knows what I can create.

Reflect on your own dreams of sex and pregnancy. Who are you collaborating with and what will manifest from this relationship? Which relationships need healing? What are you denying yourself in your waking life? What projects need your focused attention?

If you are having the kind of sex that can get you pregnant then your dreams may be prophetic. You can use the messages from those dreams to see how your life, as well as the child’s, will unfold.

Next time you wake up in a cold sweat because you dreamed of being pregnant or having sex with someone undesirable, stop and think about your relationships and how you are sharing your creative energy.